E-mail: Password:
• Learn More • Register Now • Forgot Password?
Home Language: English | French
Home / The Course / Which Government Level? / Provincial and Territorial Government
Provincial and Territorial Government

Five fast facts
  • Canada has 10 provinces and three territories.
  • Canada’s Constitution determines the division of powers between the federal and provincial governments.
  • The federal government, rather than the Constitution, grants powers to the territorial governments. Generally they are the same as the provinces'; one exception is land and natural resources which is under federal control.
  • Some powers are shared between the federal and provincial governments with each having specific areas of responsibility.
  • There is a sitting of Parliament and of each legislature at least once every twelve months.


The Canadian Constitution grants provincial governments jurisdiction over many aspects of everyday life, such as primary and secondary education, health and social services, property and civil rights, provincial and municipal courts, and municipal institutions.



The provincial legislatures and the Quebec National Assembly, as well as the Canadian House of Commons, function according to a parliamentary system of government.


Overview of Parties

As mentioned, all provincial governments and the Yukon are based on a political party system. Most provinces and the Yukon have three main parties represented in their assembly while Alberta and Saskatchewan have four and British Columbia has five.


Printable version
  Page Top  
Copyright © 2005 | E-mail: info@gettingtothegate.com
How to Use this Course
The Course