E-mail: Password:
• Learn More • Register Now • Forgot Password?
Home Language: English | French
Home / Volunteers/Contributors

Volunteers, content contributors, and the support of an Advisory Committee made this course possible.

The volunteers include the Getting to the Gate Executive Committee: Patricia Dumas, committee chair responsible for the gathering and drafting of content; Phyllis Tanaka, treasurer and administrator; and Diane Williamson, leader of the design and programming team. Pat Latner was involved in the initial development of the curriculum and course structure. Paul Paré provided the translation of the entire course.

The Getting to the Gate Committee drew extensively on the print and electronic archives of the Committee for 94, the predecessor of Equal Voice. Among these archives was the material of a series of campaign schools designed and organised by Libby Burnham, Q.C., DCL., founding member of both the Committee for 94 and Equal Voice.

Special thanks to our Contributors:
Brantford Councillor Marguerite Ceschie-Smith, member of the Board of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, for providing us with the content of a campaign school for women she had developed. This content forms much of the basis of Section 5 on how to run a campaign.
Peggy Nash, MP for Parkdale and former senior member of the Canadian Auto Workers Union, provided us with a CAW Leadership course for Women which was a critical tool in guiding our thinking at the initial stages of the development of the Getting to the Gate project.

Dr. Alexandra Tcheremenska-Greenhill, Director of the Office of Leadership in Medicine at the Canadian Medical Association, whose considerable experience in course development guided us in finalizing the structure of the curriculum for this online course.

Lyman MacInnis, FCA, LLD (hon.), a Toronto-based executive coach, for allowing us to use his article on how to write a good speech.

We are grateful to senior members of the staff of Elections Canada for directing us toward the appropriate links on the Elections Canada website which form the basis of our financial sub-section.

Input was also provided by a number of women who were or are involved in nomination and election campaigns as candidates or organizers and by other organizations such as the Nova Scotia Advisory Council on the Status of Women.

Very special thanks to all those present and past elected women who took the time to send in testimonials for this course.

Advisory Committee Members:

Constance Backhouse, B.A., LL.M., LL.D.
Full Professor, Faculty of Law
University of Ottawa

Darla D. W. Campbell
The Canadian Federation of Business and Women's Clubs

Marguerite Ceschi-Smith
Councillor Brantford City
FCM Director

Donna Dasko
Equal Voice Vice-President
Senior Vice-President, Environics

Peter Donolo
The Strategic Council

Kiloran German
Sage Corporate Communications

Chantal Maillé
Women's Studies
Concordia Univerity

Graham Murray
G.P. Murray Research Ltd.

Hon. Lucie Pépin

Louise Poirier
Gatineau City Councillor
President, FCM Standing Committee for
Increasing Women’s Participation in the FCM

Dr. Alexandra Tcherermenska-Greenhill
Director, Office of Leadership in Medicine
Canadian Medical Association

Julia White
Director, Women's Program
Canadian Auto Workers

Janet Wiegand
Chair, Equal Voice BC Chapter
President, Board of Canadian Women Voters Congress

Printable version   | Comments?
  Page Top  
Copyright © 2005 | E-mail: info@gettingtothegate.com
How to Use this Course
The Course